Legacy of the Lost Mage: Jaeth’s Eye by: K.S. Villoso

The Agartes Epilogues #1

A hero’s daughter is caught between two brothers and a war involving a witch’s beast. From the author of the critically acclaimed The Wolf of Oren-yaro rediscovers the epic fantasy adventure that pits old legacies against a necromancer’s beast in a tale praised for its complex narrative, character development, rich worldbuilding, and a riveting conclusion.

Sume Kaggawa promised her father a dragon. Abandoned by an older brother who dreamed of grand adventures, she is the only hope left for a family fallen on hard times. A deal with a shadowy mage traps her in a conspiracy between greedy merchants and forgotten kings. For the chance to revive her family name and be everything her brother could never be, Sume must sign away her life and freedom–or forever doom her bloodline to failure.

Meanwhile, the mercenary Kefier finds himself chased down by former associates after a botched job leaves his friend dead. Already once branded a murderer, he crosses paths with his friend’s sister Sume and the merchant-mage, Ylir. Their intertwined fates brings them to the crux of a conflict with the first fire-breathing dragon seen in the continent for decades. But the dragon may very well not be a dragon, but a demon hell-bent on corrupting those in its path…including the three running head-first into it.

The 5th Anniversary Edition of the debut trilogy from the author of the critically acclaimed The Wolf of Oren-yaro rediscovers the epic fantasy adventure that pits old legacies against a necromancer’s beast in a tale praised for its complex narrative, character development, rich worldbuilding, and a riveting conclusion.


Content Warnings: Alcoholism, loss of loved ones, violence, death, blood/gore, abuse, confinement, child sacrifice, attempted rape, sexual assault, and sexism.

Having read, and loved, Villoso’s CHRONICLES OF THE BITCH QUEEN trilogy I knew that I needed to read more of their work. When I found out that this series takes place in the same world, just at a different time period, I was ecstatic to jump back in…and it did not disappoint.

This is one of those fantasy novels that bounces between a lot of different perspectives and in the beginning a lot of those narratives might not make sense but by the end we get to see how connected they all are. I absolutely love stories like this, when you really have to pay attention to see the whole picture by the end. Though I still need to read books two and three I have a feeling that this series is going to be another one that I adore re-reading.

The two main narratives that I enjoyed, and I feel like we get the most from, are that of Sume and Keifer. Sume, at the start is a sixteen year old, small town girl, who yearns for adventure like her father and older brother have been part of. Keifer, though still young himself, at nineteen, has had a rough life filled with pain that has left him jaded in some ways while still remaining very naive in others.

I love how Villoso always writes characters that are shades of gray, not one could ever be considered fully good or fully evil. The best part is, though certain characters I may love now…who knows what could happen between now and the end of book three that could have me changing my mind. I’m so glad that I was able to get my hands on this book and I can’t wait to read the other two!

Published by Noelle Loves Books

Growing up, Japanese and Indigenous, it was hard to find books that showcased stories and worlds that accurately portrayed Noelle’s experiences. Fantasy quickly became her main love, as you could really be anyone, anywhere. As the years went on, and technology grew, Noelle was finally able to see more stories and authors that looked and felt like her. Noelle is open to all genre’s though she can mostly be found reading own voice, fantasy, and romance. Ratings: 5 Stars: Completely blew me away 4 Stars: Loved the story but didn't feel completely blown away by it 3 Stars: Liked the overall concept of the story but either had poor execution, had a lot of plot holes, or was written poorly 2 Stars: I struggled to understand the plot, poorly written, or just had really unlikeable characters along with a poor writing 1 Star: Horribly written, major plot holes, or extremely unlikeable characters and plots.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: